My rating: 4.5 stars

Explosion of emotions. That is how I would resume this story. I remember that I liked very much Genetic Attraction so I was pretty certain that I would enjoy Deceptive Attraction by Tara Lain.

First thing to know, it is a MMF romance but the story was mainly from one of the man’s point of view, Caleb, although here and there we could “hear” Elijah and Angel’s thoughts. I am not that surprised here. Tara Lain is a MM author so for her it is pretty natural to take a male as the main character in her stories.

This romance is all about how two men can let go of their life and go out of the closet publicly. What I liked here is that the woman had absolutely no problem about loving two guys in front of the world. Generally it is always the woman who struggle, not in this story which was a true breath of fresh air.

I told you already that my favorite MMF relationship is when the parties just meet and evolve together. That was the case here. I was a bit afraid that the woman, Angel, would not receive the equal attention in the relationship. She did not but mostly in the sex scenes. However she did emotionally. I loved when Tara Lain said that some straight men can become gay only for one man in their life. Caleb and Elijah explained that they were bisexual men only for one woman.

And that made sense and I understood the attraction for a tomboy woman who looks like a young boy and the other guy looking like a girl with his blond curls. That is pretty much how I would find credible a very gay man could fall for a woman. Generally curbs are not really attractive for gay men. They do not like breasts too. They also do not care much about girly girls with long hair heavily make up on their face. They are just not attracted to extra feminine female showing their assets.

I met a couple of gay men in my life and I can certify that it is true from first hand. Of course I am not talking on behalf every single gay men. But per my own experience, they just find curbs quite repulsive or at the very least not attractive. I am not talking about bisexual men. I am talking about gay men and in a very general way.

I read recently a very interesting article, unfortunately in french so I cannot give you any link on top of being on a magazine. It was about threesomes. They explained that most bisexual men are generally more manly physically, with more muscles, larger and they are attracted to big guys rather than lean guys with no muscles and more feminine. They generally like it a bit rougher as well. The woman gives them the balance they need to compensate this testosterones giving them the tenderness they need in the trio.

I am not going to say they are right because I am not a bisexual guy so I cannot speak on behalf something I do not know. However, I found it interesting to read that a man attracted to another man when he is fully gay and a man attracted to another man when he is bisexual may have different physical tastes. How did they ended with this? Probably stats.

As for the woman. I loved that in this story, Angel, was a tomboy, very boyish and very okay with her body. I liked her personality. She had a mature attitude and was honest to be aware that being with a gay man would be very difficult to keep the relationship alive if the gay man did not have his gay other half fed.

And here is where I am going to become personal. I had a one year relationship with a gay man when I was 18. I was definitely the dominant in our relationship and he was a submissive. At that time, I had no freaking ideas about BDSM or threesome, MFM or MMF. In fact, one friend one day told me that one of her friend could not make love if not with 2 guys. In my naive head, I thought: oh wow… she must be sooooo long to cum that she needs the stamina of 2 guys to satisfy her….. yeah yeah you can laugh!! I was very open minded but soooooo very naive at 18!

Anyway. Back to my relationship. At the beginning of our relationship we tried sex. not good, since he wanted to be bottom and I did not have the right parts plus our youth and lack of experience put us in a dead end relationship. But we stayed together for a year. He had a sex affair with another guy while he fed his emotional needs with me. Nevertheless  to say that I ended the relationship if I can call it relationship with him because mostly my own sexual needs were not fulfilled. He was attractive but like a lot of gay men, relatively feminine in his mannerism sometimes and at that time I had a bit too much curbs for his liking. Although I was size 6 and 5 feet 7, I was definitely not boyish enough physically to attract him sexually but he always told me I was very pretty. Methinks that he just wanted to pretend and if pretending the girl had to be at least a bit pretty next to him. So reading this article, I thought that maybe they were right. maybe. We can debate on this right? In french we say: tous les goûts sont dans la nature! (all tastes are in nature). This is so right! Who care really besides chemistry 😉

So why did I mention my personal experience in a review when probably 99.99% give shit to hear about? Only the credibility factor. If I read a romance and the credibility is not there, I loose interest. again credibility is about to know if I can relate to the characters, if I can understand their feelings. When we read a romance, it is my believe that we all try to relate and somethings some stories trigger our own past and experience. This was the case with Deceptive Attraction. Tara Lain made me remember my 18 years old relationship I had with this gay young man and yes, I could totally relate.

So yes, having a relationship with a gay man is possible but the obstacles are so numerous that it needs to have a lot of balance and commitment to make it work. But is it more or less difficult as any relationship between 2 people or more?

Deceptive Attraction is an emotional story of a guy who does not control much the events: the man he loves refuse to commit and the woman he loves works in Africa. The interesting part is that he has all the support of his family (Thank you Tara for not falling on this cliché of: what-will-think-my-family and I-do-not-want-to-upset-them!!!). It is all because he is a soccer goalie and this game is definitely extremely macho.

It was also very nice to read all those french endearing words with NO TYPOS!!!!! Bravo! I also visited the beautiful country of Senegal before civil war destroyed it. So it was interesting to read about the people, taboos and culture there. And yes, Tara Lain is right on the gay taboos in Africa too. The Senegal was a french colony and they still speak french there. I have to say that I never met so many nice local people when I visited this country years ago. Such a beautiful country!

Deceptive Attraction deserves a 4.5 stars because the romance was credible, because the author respected the french words, because the characters had a story behind the lust they had for each others, because it put smiles on my face here an there. Yes the ending is a bit fairy tale but it was cute and I spend a good time to read this romance. It was well written and each amateur of MM, they will enjoy this sweet emotional romance. In fact the story of the first 2 males in Genetic Attraction (book2), can be found in The Scientist and the Supermodel (book 1)

Well done Tara Lain! Now we are waiting for book 4 of this series!

Author Interview: HERE

Publisher’s description (Loose Id):

Caleb Martin faces a life crisis — and he’s pretty embarrassed about it. A talented soccer star, he has the chance to sign a lucrative five-year contract and be rich and famous. Two problems — Cal is gay and signing the contract means he has to stay in the closet, maybe for life. Plus, he’ll have to spend his years diving for soccer balls when he’d like to be helping people, like the rest of his family.

A one-night stand with a beautiful man rocks Cal, but the guy vanishes only to reappear again later where Cal is house-sitting. Too much coincidence? Totally. And then a cute tomboy throws Cal’s life choices into confusion. How could he wind up with a commitmentphobic guy and a woman, especially one dedicated to work in Africa? If that’s not confusing enough, he gets a big surprise in a snowstorm. Cosmic joker strikes again.

Publisher’s Note: This book contains explicit sexual situations, graphic language, and material that some readers may find objectionable: anal play/intercourse, male/male sexual practices, menage (m/m/f).

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Tara Lain says:

    Hi Mary– My sincerest thanks for your time and great efforts in reviewing Deceptive Attraction. I’m delighted that you liked it! I really enjoyed your personal stories and appreciated your comments about the French and Senegal. Thank you again! I’m looking forward to tomorrow. : )

    Like

  2. marynaughtywhispers says:

    You are most welcome Tara. I am not sure if it was “great efforts” here… Sounds like my old gym teacher who did not want to discourage me here trying but not succeeding (giggling). oh well, that is my way of reviewing I guess but since I gave a 4.5 stars, which is in my book almost the perfect score, I guess this review is a great review anyway right? (wink)

    I hope that readers will understand that your Attraction series is a great addition to their menage collection!

    Mary

    Like