My rating: 3 STARS

First, I would like to mention that Forged in Fired, Rebirth series 3 by Sara brookes should not really put into the erotica genre. I found that plot takes almost all the place of the story and sex is very limited. So if the reader is looking for numerous hot vampire sex scenes, they should look elsewhere. Yes the sex scenes were explicit but very limited and not overly detailed which is okay but unexpected in erotica.

Second, you just cannot read this book unless you read book 1 Flash of Dark and book 2 Blood Fever. They are not stand alone at all. This is not the fault of the publisher because the name and the number of the series is clearly mentioned on the cover. However, I still was surprised. Most of the time there is a main story in the series, a general connection but then each book is independent from each other or most of the time we can catch up since most of the time the authors make a recap in the first few pages. Sara Brookes does not work that way. You could put each following each other in one book. And this is why I was disconcerted. I was lucky enough that I bought the first two books of this series.

Sara Brookes’s style is either you like it or not. She uses the “I” and there is only one person speaking in each book: the heroine. I personally have a hard time to connect with the other characters if I do not read their minds. So I did not enjoy much the male main characters because I could not understand their true motives and feelings. It was very hard to appreciate what Sara Brookes had to offer and she is offering much if a reader like a very strong plot. I kept thinking that this series should not be labeled erotica. I guess the fact that this heroine is in a ménage with two men explains it. If I have to give a percentage, I would say 90% plot/action and 10% erotic. That says all.

This story is the sequel of book 2 Blood Fever. You can avoid book 1 Flash of Dark. Book 1 is about the story of Ana and Starks, a fae and a human who is turned “rebirthed” vampire. Book 2 and 3 is the story of Evanne a vampire, Quinn the king fae and Logan another vampire. What I found a bit difficult is that each heroine have a very hard time to admit they love their men. They have “feelings” but the word “love” is used like it is a rude word.  Sara brookes describes the feelings, we read between the lines but it is never open in the air.

Now. The story is strong once you are into it. Again, remember that I have read the first two books prior this one so my brain is right in the middle of the story. It is a faes and vampires war in the human world. The idea was truly original and Sara brookes found a unique story that I enjoyed.

Overall, it was a good experience but as I said I have a hard time to relate with her style using the “I” with only one character but I cannot and will not give a low rate because of that because it is not deserved. This series is good. And if a reader enjoy a solid paranormal plot vs romance, then this is the series to read.

This review was originally published at Risqué Reviews.

Cover:

I have only good things to say about this publisher’s covers. They are always related to the story. The colors, designs, models are always beautiful.

Publisher’s description (Liquid Silver Books):

Word Count: 77400

As vampire Evande Austin tries to adjust to her newfound abilities, she can’t fight her new reality. She never intended to fall in love with two men. But she also never intended to take Fae blood to keep her alive either. Trouble lurks in the shadows and Evande fears she will not be able to control the raging blood fever that burns through her because of Quinn. Thanks to Logan, the man who gives her anchor, Evande is able to maintain a thread of sanity in the blinding chaos.

When the Elders strike out and her future tumbles around her feet, Evande realizes the two men give her a bond she is unable to survive without. They need her just as much as she needs them. Giving into them both could just be the one thing that saves everyone.

But one thing remains clear—nothing comes without a cost.

Read An Excerpt Here

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.