Head games

My rating : 4 stars

Sweet. I had a great time reading this story. Although it is not a story that kept me on my toes with the plot, the romance was endearing and Cassandra Carr convinced me with her choice of characters. Head Games is a story about a woman scared to have an open ménage relationship with two men.

Normally, I would cringe. I really dislike heroine who are whining “no-I-cannot-do-that” while they have sex with both males. Here, I tried to have an open mind and think if I all her insecurities and doubts were credible. And they were. But just know that her insecurities and doubts are the main focus of this story.

Head Games will put upfront all the fears that an average woman would experience. I am not sure that 2 goalies of their age would remain in the same hockey team in real life, but why not. What I liked in the romance is that both guys did not fall in a blink of an eye in love with her. I am not so sure how they showed up to her restaurant (that would have added a bonus in the story I think if the author explained it) but for a period of a couple of months. Months, not weeks or days.

Since personally I give a s*** about what would society think about me, I tried to imagine how the majority of women would feel in the heroine’s shoes. And the way the heroine reacted was plausible. When you love two men and you have a business to run, the gossips can destroy it very quickly. So when a person worked really hard to get a successful business, I can understand the hesitations and fears. If the guys, like in this story are celebrities, then of course it gets worse. What we see on TV is that a lot of players are bachelors and have lot of fun and party a lot. They are young and with their new celebrity all of a sudden, all the groupies are surrounding them like flies. Easy sex. Tons of flings.

I would have loved to have a bit more of plot with the romance. Maybe develop how they all meet and how their feelings evolved. I think it would have benefit to build the romance. But overall, the romance was sweet and the sex scenes enough present to have a steamy story.

This story is book #1 of the series Buffalo Intimidators and Cassandra Carr planted the notion that ménage are very common among the hockey players, so methinks that we should see book #2 very soon… I am sure Cassandra Carr will find not give us the same three-way ménage MFM but why not 3 or 4 men and some feisty women? 😉

Cover:

Not attractive in my opinion. The message on the cover is for me that the woman is a slut: naked and kinda masturbating in front of 2 men in clothes… but the kitchen is there and since she is a chief in a bistro, I guess the cover is related to the story but I would have loved to see 2 hockey goalies somehow or something hockey related on top of the kitchen. Just a note here. The choice of the covers are made by the publishers. The authors do not have much to say about it.

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Word Count: 39,424
Erotic Contemporary Ménage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, bondage

Leo Laporte and Scott Schaeffer are teammates on the ice and roommates off it who also share women. They’ve been coming into Kelly Chase’s bistro after games for months, and they know they want her. As the attraction grows, the men realize they want more than a one-night stand—they want forever.

Kelly’s not so sure. Yes, she wants both men, much to her own mortification. But a permanent ménage relationship? That’s taking giving her heart away to a whole new level, and a chance she’s hesitant to take. Then Leo is injured and Scott’s on the trading block, and she realizes this may be her only shot at true, everlasting love.

There are so many questions swirling around inside Kelly’s head. Can she believe in Leo and Scott’s love? And will her business and her reputation survive once people find out she’s with two men?

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

2 responses

  1. Thanks so much, Mary! I appreciate you taking the time to read my book! 🙂

    Like

  2. marynaughtywhispers says:

    You are most welcome Cassandra! I cannot wait to read your next one of this series!

    Like