I just could not continue with this blog without making a special review with one of my favorite menage author and series. Although it is not really a series since all books are stand alone and it is not really a menage author but a multiple partner’s author. 😉

I know this author for quite a while now and unfortunately for us, readers,  Madeleine Montague does not publish a lot of books but when she does, my gosh it is a treat! Before the NCP website was remade (little miracles exist I’m tellin’ ya!), I read that we should have another wolfen book but I have no idea when and if it would be this year even. I sure hope so!

Talking about NCP Website… big kudos to the webmistress! It took a while to get a professional website but the result is great! And other kudos for the other webmistress regarding the  NCP Network!  I am not sure how NCP could survive with the prehistoric and never updated correctly website they used to give to their customers. May I only suggest to add a new “sort” and give us a choice to sort the book per “newest or oldest”: that would be really nice. I guess the quality of their authors helped. Anyway, great job for both and we are all a happy camper family now! LOL

Back to the wolfen. I do insist on the word. Not werewolves, but wolfen. The difference is that they are born and first wolf and they can turn human, not the other way around. That was very unique and I liked the idea very much. Their roots are coming from Europe and because of wars, famish, diseases and hunts by humans, most of them had to immigrate to the new continent. They are following the pack laws with the prime alphas and the alphas. Both have lieutenants : one beta and two omegas. The only difference is that the prime alpha has a territory with multiple packs composed each with their own alpha, beta and omegas. The female are still rare, protected and shared with the top four and they are humans with special genetics that they can be accepted by the elders. However, weres exist as well: they are bitten by wolfen when they turn rogue. The stories are about wolfen though.

Now, this sums up but each story is completely different and each of them was unique.

My rating: 5 stars

Hunger of the wolf is one of my favorite for many reasons. First, the cover. I have to mention it right away. WOW those are totally my fantasy kind of men for menage! Yummy! Jenny Dixon, the cover artist, was a genius. I would just make a huge poster and put it on the wall of my bedroom (how delightful would it be to start a new day and the first thing to look at would be those hunks?) … if I was still a teen and this says tons because I was never the kind of teen who was fan of a specific music artist or movie male actor or anything similar! Loved the black and white, loved the faces, loved the bodies. Ok… what else to say? LOVED IT!

Regarding the story, I enjoyed that I could read the feelings of all the main characters. I liked that the prime alpha, Dante, was completely in love at first sight, as well as the beta, Maurice. However, and this is the same critic I made to a couple of NCP authors: I was a bit cheated regarding the omegas. It seems that some authors do have a problem to give equal time in their stories which makes us hungry for more. Same old, the authors justify the omegas with only a couple of pages at almost the end of the story. I wished they would elaborate a bit more and earlier.

This story has a strong plot and thinking about it, it is possible that the plot overwhelms the romance although I found everything interlinked nicely. Madeleine Montague picks her heroine around 35 years old and the males always younger, like late twenties for the alpha and beta and early twenties for the omegas. That is a constant with Madeleine Montague (and with Kaitlyn O’Connor I must add). I am okay with that since I am a middle aged woman but sometimes I would have change the age of the males, just to be kept on my toes.

note to author and publishers: Mes amis…. there is an “S” at ami if it is plural… yeah yeah my french grammar obsession here again :-p No excuse if they are Cajuns! lol

Wolfen‘s story is in my opinion the best book of this series. All the 5 males are alphas and for the love of her, decide to create their own pack but before they do so, it takes a lot of arguments and fights. I liked the idea (who would not eh?) that men can quit everything and would do everything for love. In this story, I found the insecurities of the heroine pretty credible. However a little less when Madeleine Montague describes her as a female alpha although the last part of the book shows her very strong, vocal and funny. It seemed to me that the first part of the book, she is a bit overwhelms. Several times I found myself smiling: when she gets drunk, when she tries to escape thru the window and laughing out loud at the epilogue. I loved that I could read a true threesome sex scene: very rare for Madeleine Montague (and NCP authors) and therefore appreciated 🙂

If you are looking for detailed sex scenes with Madeleine Montague, forget it. Yes, we find hot sex scenes but they are not overly detailed, relatively short and most of the time not very originals: it is (with one exception) males taking turns on one-on-one and the others males waiting and looking (voyeurism). Anal is the exception as well as BJ. It sounds limited, I know. But thinking about it and everything put together, it works. I am not a menage reader who is expecting the read the same again and again: in some stories, sex will be top priority and in some others, plot and emotional interaction will be. I am okay with that even if it does not mean that I can give my grain of salt on each!

My rating: 4 stars

Call of the Wolf was another unique story. A bit less credible but interesting. The heroine is not born wolfen but yet find a way to become one for the love of her wolfen. I would have loved more explanation on this although this is not the main part of it. Here again, the guys are all aphas and for the love of her, decide to create their own pack. I would have loved to know what would happen with their respective packs. I would have loved to know that they cared also for their old pack and make sure that they would be well taken care of. I think Madeleine Montague has a thing for bikers: they were bikers in Wolfen and they are also in Call of the wolf. Not that I mind to imagine men in leather pants, mind you! LOL

Wolf was maybe the one I liked a little bit less of the four. The story was interesting also in this story it is hard to know if the guys are werewolves or wolfen, if they were coming from experimentation or not. It seems that a bunch of guys were infected somehow and among all the dozen of guys who escaped from somewhere (wished I knew a bit more where), each guy turned either alpha or beta or omega and created their own packs among them. It was a bit unclear and I was starving to know a bit more about it.

Along the way, one of the new pack find a woman who accidentally was not meant to be there. I found a bit long to read the trip in the south America forest and I was a tiny bit upset that the alpha was not more into her like in the previous stories. But the story was original and the plot here again very present.

Those books are just my cup of tea. I have them in eBook format but also in print. Did I mention that when I love a story I MUST buy the print if it is available? I read those a couple of time already. When I am not inspired with any new release, I go strait to them (along with Kaitlyn O’Connor and a couple of other authors). A while ago, I contacted Madeleine Montague and she was kind enough to listen about my rambling regarding the equal time of romance. I cannot wait to see if her next wolfen book will take my comments in consideration. That is another great thing I find with NCP: all the authors are approachable. They are easy to contact and speak with. Some extra kudos for NCP! 😉

If you never read the wolfen series, I would recommend to read them in the order of releases even if they are all stand alone and have no connection between them.

Covers: I loved Hunger for the Wolf and Wolfen but was upset with Call of the wolf and Wolf. I found Call of the wolf pretty generic and I could use this cover with any of the other NCP menage author’s story: no mention of the four guys, only two. On Wolf’s cover, it was three wolf, not four and again nothing original.

Excerpts: just click on the titles mentioned in this review, you’ll find direct links

Publisher’s descriptions:

Hunger of the wolf : As an electro-kinetic high on the government’s list of desirables, Shilo’s been on the run ever since she escaped their clutches. What she doesn’t realize is that her psychic gift is also the lure that draws lycans to her, that the ‘scent’ of her gift is many times more seductively potent to them even than the scent of one of their own females in heat. April 2007

Wolfen: As engrossed as Danika generally is in her work, even she notices the underlying hostility with which the locals in the small northwestern town regard her and her research. She notices the biker gang that arrives shortly behind her even more. With their long hair, tattoos, and piercings, the rough group of bikers aren’t the sort of men she’s ever had contact with-and shouldn’t want to have contact with-but they don’t seem to grasp that they’re not her type and she isn’t theirs. February 2008

Call of the Wolf: Abigail Winthrope was having a hard enough time adjusting to her new identity without the complication of discovering she’d landed next door to a pack of men that looked like they’d gather for a male model convention. She couldn’t afford to become involved with any of the locals—be they ever so attractive—and, considering her last disastrous relationship, she really wasn’t interested, especially when she discovered the men gathered at the bed and breakfast next door for the Harvest Moon Festival all belonged to a motorcycle gang. September 2008

Wolf: It was a ‘routine’ mission for the special ops squads that went terribly wrong. From the moment the parasites invaded them, they began to change into something frightening, fierce, and virtually unstoppable. Graphic violence and sexual encounters, multiple sexual partners, orgy-type situation. August 2009

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.