My rating : 3  stars

Rugged Glimpse, Rugged Savage Valley, Colorado 1

If you are like me, once I see that a book is part of a series, I must read them all. Of course this series is far from ended. Once an author or a publisher has a winner in their hands why would they stop the series uh? 😉

I am not sure why but something was a little bit missing in this book. Could be humor, could be originality, could be the characters. I am not sure but I found myself skipping pages which of course is not a good sign. It was an okay story but I could not relate to any of them. I also found that the story was a bit boring at times. I thought that was the story that I already read somewhere somehow. The only originality is that the weres are bears.

But otherwise, I thought that she accepted a bit too quickly their presence. I also thought that she forgave them way too quickly. So what? two brothers make fun of her when she was younger, humiliate her really… then she shows up being a beautiful woman and their first thought is: we must fuck her and keep her? And her first thought in return is: ohhhh I am so intrigued and so horny that I have to do it?

Sorry, but I did not find anything really credible or endearing. The writing is good but the story did not do anything for me.

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Word Count: 52,170

Erotic Paranormal Ménage a Trois Romance, M/F/M, shape-shifters, spanking]

London fashion girl Elena Ward decides to leave her old life behind. She chooses to tramp through the wilds of Savage Valley in the hopes of revamping her photography career. Trying to garner the attention of a more prestigious audience and desperate to capture the edgy side of nature, Elena gets more wilderness than she was looking for in the hunky bear-shifting brothers Joseph and Caleb Kinman.

After meeting the shy yet intriguing Brit, Joseph and Caleb can’t wait to make Elena their mate. But with a series of mysterious animal attacks causing anxiety in the townsfolk of Savage Valley, Elena and the Kinman brothers soon discover that something dark is lurking just beneath the surface.

Will their love be strong enough? Or will the monsters that stalk through Savage Valley prevail?

My rating : 4 stars

Rugged Reburn, Rugged Savage Valley, Colorado 2

I honestly think that book 2, Rugged Reburn, is way better than book #1, Rugged Glimpse. I found myself laughing on book #2 and not on book #1. Did the author. Edith Dubois got loose on book #2? Could be but it made a huge difference for me.

I truly enjoyed reading this book. I thought that all the characters were credible and some situations were very funny. Funny is not something that most authors think to add on their stories. I understand that not each book must have this little spark of humor but my gosh how I love it when I find it! When I mean humor, I do not mean comedy and you all understand the difference right?

The story is about how a family member can abuse another family member. Here, sisters. How long can someone understand and accept that abuse. How long will it take to that person to free her/himself and move on. I found very interesting to read one of many possibilities that anyone can use in real life. One day enough is enough. Most of the time, this person will open the eyes with the help of an outsider but in the end the decision is personal.

A lot of people had one day someone who abused of our generosity, out time, our money, our emotions, our friendship or our love. I sure am one of them. So reading this story gave me the “I can relate to the character” extra that I so like when I read a story.

If on top of that, I find some humor then my enjoyment is even higher. The scene when the heroine, Michelle, try to make stop talking Franklin is funny and endearing.

Michelle is the kind of woman that I could meet and be friend with. The males characters are a bit in her shadow in this story except Franklin which I found extremely cute. I am not sure why I love to read that a big guy (bear) can blush. I just find that adorable I guess.

This story makes reference of the characters of book #1, but can completely be read as a stand alone. The author is repeating where they are all coming from so it is not a problem if you do not read book #1. It is indeed a paranormal story with were-bears but the paranormal is not over the top. In fact if the author removed the paranormal from it, we could still enjoy the story without it but with it, it adds a little extra maybe.

Publisher’s description (Siren Publishing):

Word Count: 56,916

Erotic Paranormal Ménage a Quatre Romance, M/F/M/M, shape-shifters, light BDSM, spanking, sex toys]

Michelle Andrews needs a break. After years of catering to her sister’s every whim, she’s lost herself. So she drags her sister away from the country music limelight and heads for Savage Valley, looking to catch some hard-earned R&R.

What she catches instead are the hearts of charming bear-shifters Elias, Thomas, and Franklin Ashley. The brothers recognize something beautiful and good in Michelle, but they know she’s fragile. As they help her stand up to her sister and rediscover her strength, land-hungry NormCorp plans to unsettle the peaceful town.

But will NormCorp’s violent scheme expose Savage Valley’s most treasured secret?

Note: There are two different series in the Savage Valley, Colorado collection. Rugged Savage Valley by Edith Dubois is bear-shifters. The Pride of Savage Valley series by Helena Ray is mountain lion-shifters. Each book features a different romantic trio or quartet. Even though the two series take place in the same setting with crossover characters and share an external story arc, each of the series can stand alone.

Note:

I will also review Helena Ray 😉

//
//

About Mary's Ménages Reviews

I read, review, beta read and blog about erotic ménages romances since 2005. Welcome to my world! :)

Comments are closed.